TLR #1 Anna Crow

I have never considered myself to be technologically oriented, or talented, but I remember at the end of English 387 Multimedia Authoring how accomplished I felt. In the class, I had coded, by hand, an entire website, albeit a very simple one. Having succeeded at hand coding, and especially getting the code to validate, was one of the highlights of that semester. What bothered me, though, was that I did not understand how code actually works. What I had learned in class was to “follow the handouts,” which served me well for class, but even after creating the website, I still didn’t feel as though I had a good handle on code–HTML, to be more specific.

My urge to know more about code and how it works–what attributes are, how to do more with code than was outlined on the handouts from class–was the impetus behind my choosing to start from scratch, and learn HTML (and CSS) again, thoroughly. Thus far, I have used w3schools.com and its tutorials to revisit the basics of HTML and to fill-in the gaps of my code education. One of the best aspects about the cite is its “Try it Yourself” exercises; I’m a visual learner, and to even just see code, and especially to tinker around with it, seems to benefit me a lot. In my previous class I always seemed to be behind in the class, and would end up scurrying through the labs to get them done. I’m thoroughly enjoying taking my time with each exercise, spending more time on some, and less time on others. 

The most exciting moment so far while reading through the tutorials has been discovering how to code a word so that it has a strike through it. As trivial as it may be, I have always awed at how it’s done.The aesthetic is emphatic–and I love emphasis in writing. When I finally learned how to code for this in one of the tutorials, I admit, I became overly excited. Finally learning how to code for something that I have always marveled at reminded me, as it does now, that I don’t have to remain a “technologically impaired” person. I was slightly skeptical about learning a digital skill on my own, but I have no reason to be skeptical anymore. If anything, I am excited about learning another skill once I finish revisiting, relearning, and learning for the first time the ins and outs of HTML and CSS. 

Leave a Reply

