TLR#1 Asia W.

HTML is Hypertext Markup Language. With HTML words on a page are given an enhanced meaning. Emphasis can be placed on important parts of a page. Links, tables, and images can be added to a page in order to strengthen the experience of a user.

Using HTML Dog I embarked on understanding this language and attempted to create my own website. I realized I was already familiar with the tags that surround the words on a page that appear behind the scenes. Tumblr is a microblogging platform and social networking website that I used daily in high school. It was highly customizable. When I first began using Tumblr I would take free themes found on the web to enhance my own blog. Originally I could see the code being used but didn’t understand it. There were often parts of borrowed themes that I didn’t like. I played around with the code by deleting and adding things and watching the theme to see what it changed physically on the site. Tumblr helped me to understand both html and css. I went back to my old Tumblr page and looked at my theme to refresh my memory of html and css.

Tumblr, however was already online. Saving text on notepad as html proved extremely difficult for me. Even when I would save a file as ‘.html’ notepad would automatically add ‘.txt’ to the end. I toggled back and forth between using “Notepad” and “Notepad 8” to edit my text in. I settled with Notepad 8. My document appears to be saved as html. HTML Dog suggests that I attempt to make my document appear by typing the file location in the browser. Unfortunately, now I am struggling to make this work. Finding this frustrating I returned to learning how to further customize my page. At any point I can return and learn how to make the page appear online.

CSS, cascading style sheets is similar to html. However, css focuses on things like color, font and spacing. My understanding of the differences between CSS and HTML is that CSS has more entertainment value. More creativity is allowed with CSS. An editor can alter the words and images on a page to possibly evoke more feeling than they could with html. A bigger reaction is likely to be achieved with an animation then a bold header. I understand how to make a page more interactive with hyperlinks and videos.

I would like to work on memorization of further tags. The process of creating a web page takes longer when you constantly have to refer back to how to frame your work. Many tags seem to have the same meaning, I am interested in understanding the purpose of various presentational tags. HTML dog has a section titled “Redefining the Presentational Tags”. The tags mentioned place emphasis on text. I don’t see how they are any different than the basic tags that perform the same task. I have the html, css, and content for a potential website, I would like to be able to get it online and accessible on different computers.

 

Leave a Reply

