Addison Slick TLR #3

As our lecture schedule draws to a close, I can’t help bouncing on the balls of my mind-feet a little in anticipation of working and building projects of my own.  The IDE I’ve chosen for testing the waters of CSS and HTML5 is NetBeans, the development platform built and maintained by Oracle — the company which currently owns the Java coding languages.  I’ve used NetBeans for both Java and C++ development in the past on both Windows and Ubuntu, so I was very excited to learn that the same program and environment to which I am accustomed is capable of development for the web.

The first conveniences I noticed in my building foray was the inclusion of templates.  While I would generally categorize “template” as a dirty word in coding, the ones I found featured built-in Google Analytics code which track views to the page.  This inclusion is both convenient and disturbing; while it is handy that Oracle’s platform comes with tools which make it easier for the layman to keep track of site metadata, it also feeds that information directly to Google.

The second major feature I noticed was the ability to include pre-built Javascript modules into the site.  From a lengthy list, I can select any number of scripts I’d like to have on my page and put them in hassle-free.  This is simply delightful.

The last convenience is the ability to preview the site in any browser installed on the computer from which NetBeans is run.  On mine, for example, I can run the site-in-progress on Firefox, Chrome or — God forbid — Internet Explorer.  Since different browsers interpret the source code at different levels of efficiency and in different ways, this ability is actually amazing for advanced development (if I were to go all the way or something).

That’s all I really have to say about NetBeans.  It’s nice.  The code is nice and color-coded.  I don’t hate the interface.

Instead, I’ve been thinking about the interactive fiction project more and how the internet can build new approaches.  For example, the ability of a Wiki to construct a fictional world.  We use Wikipedia often to learn more about our’s, certainly, but I also use others like “A Song of Ice and Fire Wiki” or “WoWWiki” to learn about other universes.  I’ve spent hour of my life in Azeroth without having play “Warcraft” (though I have played World of Warcraft) and [wherever Game of Thrones takes place] without having read “ASOIAF” and have pretty extensive catalogs of information about them.  Did you know that Illidan’s blades have panda heads for hand-grips in Warcraft 3?  I do, because I read it on a Wiki.  So I’d like to further examine how those are structured to see if we could implement something like that into the project.

Leave a Reply

