TLR #3

So I admit that going over the various tutorials has not been as frequent lately as it should have been. Basically, while I went over all of the tutorials that I mentioned in my previous Technical Learning Report and progressed to the advanced HTML tutorials which I had planned to talk about in my next report, I did not keep the practice and reading of those tutorials as consistent as I should have. I have spent the past couple days trying to catch up on the tutorials that I should have maintained a more consistent schedule with, but what’s done is done. At least I’m not giving up on it.

For the past few days I have been looking over the advanced HTML tutorials a second time and I realized that even the second time around I am having trouble understanding everything that I am supposed to be learning. I have gone back to the intermediate HTML tutorials a couple times in order to get reacquainted with the material that I learned weeks ago. It is taking some trial and error, as well as a lot of jumping back and forth between the intermediate pages and the advanced pages, but I think I am getting the hang of the coding of HTML if little by little. On the downside of things my computer has not been exactly cooperative lately, so when I try to toy around with HTML and something doesn’t work the way it should I honestly can’t tell if it’s because I did something wrong or if my computer just decided that it had had enough for the day. Either way, I am gradually learning HTML better and with the tutorials mostly done I’ll probably be spending a lot of my time experimenting with the code itself while using the HTML tutorial pages as a reference for when I want to try something new.

On the other side of things, CSS hasn’t made as much progress as I wanted to by now. Since I have been spending the past couple days catching up on HTML, CSS has kind of been left by the wayside. I have gone over the advanced tutorials for CSS, though in my experience with the code already I need to practice with it more than read the instruction pages. I have gone over both the advanced and intermediate tutorials on CSS again and I will probably need more time to actually figure out what they are talking about and how the code is actually supposed to work. While I have looked over the intermediate tutorials more than once and am getting familiarized with them again, the advanced tutorials are still a bit alien to me and to make matters worse I haven’t had the chance to experiment with the code that the tutorials talk about as much lately as I would like to.

HTML is coming along, slowly but surely, which is more than I can say for CSS. While I slacked off a bit with HTML, I am getting back into it and improving and will do so more with more practice and experimentation with the code. CSS on the other hand is going to take a while for me to get used to it.

Leave a Reply

